New Wii/Gamecube Homebrew is coming! Piero’s Wiicross :)

wiicross editor
wiicross editor

Finally today I decided to write a post for my next upcoming homebrew game for the Nintendo Wii and Gamecube: it is called Piero’s Wicross.

As the name suggest it is based on a popular puzzle game Mario’s Picross, a game based on an existing puzzle game called Nonogram.

For those who don’t know what game I’m talking about, here it is a brief description of the original game, from wikipedia :

Nonograms or Paint by Numbers are picture logic puzzles in which cells in a grid have to be colored or left blank according to numbers given at the side of the grid to reveal a hidden picture. In this puzzle type, the numbers measure how many unbroken lines of filled-in squares there are in any given row or column. For example, a clue of “4 8 3” would mean there are sets of four, eight, and three filled squares, in that order, with at least one blank square between successive groups.

I swear it is simpler than expected!🙂

The development of the game is nearly done for both platforms, so what the game really needs are the levels.

Since I’m too lazy to create them, I decided that levels will made by YOU!

Yes, I wrote also an online level editor for the purpouse, where is possible to easily create puzzles throught a simple interface, so what expect to write your own one?

The best 50 levels will be put in the game as official ones, so head over and write yours!

Go to Wiicross Level Editor!

15 pensieri su “New Wii/Gamecube Homebrew is coming! Piero’s Wiicross :)

  1. Hello!

    I’ve made some for you!
    Hope you’ll like them!

    You know me from GBATemp and I want to ask if it’s possible to create a channel for this. I would do it (maybe you know my CBT’s Channel-Thread). I only need a nice banner and icon from you!

    And one last thing: Is it possible to write something to get back to the Wii Start screen after finishing? I ask, because a lot of Homebrew programs are for the HBC and if you make them into a channel and quit them, you’ll get a code error. The only coder who makes it is WANINKOKO. Maybe you too!

    Mi piace

  2. Cool. Looking forward to it.
    But! Do you know that some pictures are impossible to solve? I hope you have some kind of validator that sees if the puzzles submitted are solvable.

    Mi piace

  3. As for the unsolvable puzzles I’m considering to find someone who can help me in the job.
    Unfortunately I don’t have time to code so much, even for writing some algorithm to solve them.
    Also I need some that can sort them, in order to get the easier first.
    PLEASE respond only if you can really give me a help, it is a very long job and require picross master players😉

    Mi piace

  4. @Cyber-T: I may consider to give you all the necessary to make the channel, but I don’t know what risk are there.
    As for the “get back to the wii start screen”, you mean the warning screen (reset) or the wii menu itself?

    Mi piace

  5. Hi,
    I’m Cyan from gbatemp.
    I know someone who will help you sort and test the levels.
    you can PM me on gbatemp to get our contact address or visit my website irc.
    She doesn’t have a Wii, but she can help with Picross DS, or on paper too.
    I can try some levels myself too, but she is a lot quicker than I am.

    Thank you,
    Cyan

    Mi piace

  6. I’m not sure if you need music for the game or not but if you do I can make it. If you want to hear my profile send me a e-mail.

    Mi piace

  7. Is 15×15 going to be the largest in the game? That’s a little too simple for me unfortunately. I play Picross on my Palm, and the puzzles there go up to 25×25. Once you get used to the numbers/patterns and the techniques, which probably won’t take long, 15×15 is pretty simple. For the program I’m using though to play it though (PictureLogic for Palm OS), there are some really neat videogame themed ones. Too bad it probably isn’t possible to transfer them, without doing it manually.

    (Sorry though, I don’t really have the time myself to help sort them by difficulty.)

    Mi piace

  8. @zeloplast: Thank you! Check your mail😉
    @Joe: This game was born just for test so the only grid I had in mind was this 15×15.
    Also my own image library is very simple, and doesn’t support image zooming, that is needed for grids greater than 15×15 otherwise it won’t fit on screen.
    I’m also a picross addicted so I can understand what you mean🙂 Maybe in future release, who knows, but it’s not planned for now, sorry.
    Hope you will play it anyway🙂

    Mi piace

  9. For people waiting for wiicross, I’m just letting you know we are actually checking user’s puzzles to order them by difficulty.
    A few are not solvable so we are correcting them, they may appear a little different than the ones you submitted.

    Mi piace

  10. I downloaded this when it first came out as I LOVE picross/ nonogram puzzles. One question – how often can we as users expect new puzzles?

    Perhaps there is a way to get the program to link to the web and provide access to the editor from it, and / or have a seperate page of new downloadable puzzles for this program? I don’t know just a few ideas / suggestions. In other words, don’t let it die – keep us griddler fans tuned in!

    Mi piace

Lascia un commento

